gonna take me a slow train

winging it through this city of intoxicating muggy despair 

waiting at the séance for my reaped bride to reappear 

i’m sitting at the altar slowly starting to give up on my ghost 

thinking my white noise dreams should elope to another coast

 

on a slow train 

so i can feel insane 

don’t want to take no aeroplane 

that kind of terror is so hard to sustain 

gonna take me a slow slow train 

 

through the tunnels i can hear her chatter  in my sleep 

of all the cuckoo times i caused her to weep 

i can feel her tears etching blurred lines down my cheeks 

guess i cut myself as well and that’s why i leaks  

i pour my glowing  tears from the bed pan to the urn 

oh those ignited memories of hurt sure do burn 

 

i wanna wake up on a slow train 

so i can feel socially insane 

don’t want to take no aeroplane 

that kind of terror is so hard to sustain 

gonna take me one slow slow train 

 

to a sandy shore at night without a frowning moon 

there’ll be rum helping me howl spiritual songs out of tune 

gonna find me a voodoo doll with my heart pined between her breast 

when i look  into her hypnotic eyes i’ll know i’ve been blessed 

when she whispers moaning seductive curses in my ear 

i’ll dance stomp them into dark muddy swamp water beer 

 

then i’ll head back on that slow train 

to that moth city cause i’m to a flame insane 

don’t want to take no aeroplane 

that kind of terror is so hard to sustain 

gonna take me a slow slow train 

so i can rise from her flaming sheets again 

© bg 2013

2 thoughts on “gonna take me a slow train

Leave a Reply

