My One Siren Ship

i once had me

a kamikaze heart 

since then 
it’s been 
minutes 
that i cruelly drown
like unwanted kittens

hours
that i pretend never to dream
of missing days i imbibe
yet lose
like anonymous letters in the mail

weeks
that escape the law
of my intoxicated memory 

months
i measure by the weight
of empty bottles in my trash can

but the trick 
is not to drink too much
so the world never knows
now the wars lost
how i swallow 
the wrecked jagged pieces
of my retrieved sacrificed heart 
with every breath 
i inebriate
to forget my one Siren ship

© bg 2012

Leave a Reply

