Dusty Angel Wings

Walking down that dusty dirt road
Walking down that rusty dirt road
I got to thinking
as my feet patted the clay
That cold cold southerly wind
Sure can blow the sun away

I left that old city not knowing where I should go
But who says
I says who the hell knows where they should go

So I tossed my old lucky coin up into the clouds
And I followed
that thoth coin away from the darkening crowds

I heard later they hung some sucker from a tree
Someones only
Yeah I knew this sucker better up root to be free

I roamed the world and mother nurtured me
Sweet old mother
I roamed and nature let me grow wild and free

I roamed free and walked the seven deadly seas
Oh salt my wounds
Father times catching up on the back of a breeze

Walking down that dusty dirt road
Walking down that rusty dirt road
I got to thinking
as my feet patted the clay
That cold cold southerly wind
Sure can blow the sun away

When I get to them old crossroads I’ll lay down
I’ll lay on down
And make me my own rusty dusty angel wings

cause I ain’t teathered to no fundamentlist cross
They’ll fossilise me
Mother & father will fossilise me under bog moss

They’ll fossilise me as a fallen angel flying free
Free of trees
With roots that are sure to slowly impale thee

No need to roost in branches of a deluded tree
Sowed to ensnare
No need to roost in crowns that’ll entangle me

Cause I’ll get to them old crossroads and I’ll lay me down
I’ll lay on down
And make me my own rusty dusty angel wings

Walking down that dusty dirt road
Walking down that rusty dirt road
I got to thinking
as my feet patted the clay
That cold cold southerly wind
Sure can blow the sun away
But I’ve got somewhere warm to be
Yeah I’ve got somewhere warm to be

© bg 2016

8 thoughts on “Dusty Angel Wings

Leave a Reply

