At the Vets

Today the dog went to the vet
Crazy as a human being
Lost a bone to a mate on a bet
Lost control, couldn’t stop singing

Well he joined us in the mad kingdom
Said he’d got stitched
All he wanted was his freedom
So he could go kill the bitch

Strangest, strangest thing
All these mad animals
And me a human being
Trapped within padded walls

I talk to a parrot of my guilt feeling
The bird just cocks its head
Pretends to count stars on the ceiling
Then bluntly tells me I LIED

The monkey brings my quantum pills
While sleep is my nightmare life
He claims the capsules won’t make me ills
But animals don’t suffer human strife

I’m alone, trapped in a cell with asses
They’re all blind to my sanity
Even if they all don glasses
To magnify my insecurities

I scream the cats all died from curiosity
They say I poisoned my family
But the cats died from curiosity
Including the one called Aunt Emily 

©bg 2010

24 thoughts on “At the Vets

    • One day it would be fun to hear one of my poems done to music.alas I lack the skills to do it myself.i’m super happy it tickled your funny Bone :)Its also a good time I feel to confess that no human or cats were harmed in the making of this poem. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Would you be interested in this poem being published in an online literary magazine of mine?

        It has nine issues (one new one every two months). There are no printed copies or any payment involved for myself or the writers – it’s a free magazine for anyone to read. The aim is to help promote writers on websites and blogs from all over the internet. https://thewritinggarden.wordpress.com/

        Copyright remains with the writer and I always include a link back to where the work was originally published and also any other links or social media links you may wish to include.

        If you would be interested, please check out the magazine and let me know. But if you’d rather not, don’t hesitate to say no, I really won’t mind.
        Suzy 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

