heroic ?

My lips
seal
my words
deep
within
my
cranium’s
mad
asylum

The bats
of
my wrath
Are
hanging
in
the belfry
all
topsy-turvy.

The escape is planned

my words
shall
mount up
their
battered bats

They shall
raise
their swords
Or
ready
their
arrows
With
their tips
dipped
in the
vile
poisoned
blood
of my
felled
winged heart

They shall fly out at dawn

With the
sun
at their
backs
And
freedom
their
only thought

They will be slaughtered

Like all
good
soldiers
of
a greater
cause
Their use
will
prove to be
as
meaningless
as
all prayers

freewill is always over taxed

by
the martyrs
and
the saints
of
ideologically
lost
armies

Β© bg 2011

42 thoughts on “heroic ?

  1. Of course, superbananamonkey is going to let her bats out anyway. For all the King’s armies and citizens waiting to shoot them down, I figure a few might make it through the waterfall and find a waiting unicorn, or maybe even a herd, with attentive ears…(does that ring your belfry bell, bg?)
    And if I don’t release them…I’ll never-ever know…LolπŸ™ˆπŸŒπŸŒΏπŸ˜ŠπŸŽƒπŸ¦„πŸ•·

    Like

  2. I loved this. Stunning imagery and great rhythm…(something you always accomplish, imo).
    And yes, the words are so often futile. Of course, if we don’t let them bats out anyway, scary to think what happens inside our craniums…internal mad bat mayhem…LolπŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡πŸ¦‡

    Like

  3. Very nicely executed, it sits on the page well in that format.

    I read –

    “my words
    shall
    mount up
    their
    battered bats”

    as –

    “my words
    shall
    mount up
    their
    buttered bats” – and enjoyed it even more. Hahahaha.

    – esme smiling upon the Cloud

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Excellent. Instantly called to mind for me the N. Dakota Pipeline protests and gross response it is being met with. This has an all too familiar ring to it…

    🍌🍌🍌🍌🍌🍌🍌🍌🍌🍌🍌

    Liked by 1 person

      • It is endless, and endlessly and inherently unfair. We were just watching documentary about Columbus and the Taino people. What happened to nearly 2 million peace-loving souls of their 5 nations during that time frame is horrific. They were nearly wiped to extinction. Having a “Columbus Day” is like having a “Hitler Day”…and on and on we go.

        I’m still going to scream about it anyway…LolπŸ™ˆ(and hope my bats are good at dodging…Lol)

        Like

      • I’ve actually been churning this one around a lot. A few poems here and there just feels really feeble (referring to mine, not yours)…frankly, those bats aren’t even worth shooting at…(can you hear the crickets chirping?)

        My quirky little monkey brain wants to go bigger…hmmmmmm…

        πŸ’‘ (Oh, you might want to duck now…my brain is resurrecting some of my older cranial preserved formats with a whole new twisty twist…bit like my little’s boys drum meets Fargo…’cuz that is a bit what it is like…out of my trash can…into the fire…and I gots me a funny idea how to fan it)πŸ™ˆ

        When do we become heroic?

        Liked by 1 person

      • so maybe the point isn’t heroism…or maybe the definition of heroic is screwed up.

        If you can make people laugh, bring them a bit of joy, and make them think a little bit in the process…inch a little closer to understanding..
        then maybe you accomplish more than 1000 protesters on 1000 horses with 100,000 words…
        That would be my definition of real heroism, I think.πŸ™ˆπŸŒπŸŒΏπŸ˜Š
        (at least that’s what is mulling around in my brain.)

        Or what about bringing diverse people together to work? It doesn’t ring like heroism, but I think it is.πŸ™ˆ

        And if it isn’t the words you speak, then maybe it is how you live your life. (If you read through the comments on my Halloween/birthday post, you’ll get a clear picture of what I’m talking about and see a very distinct difference between living vs speaking/attacking. It wasn’t pretty.) πŸ™ˆπŸŒπŸŒΏπŸ˜ŠπŸŽƒ

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ok…But you’ve read my writing. I don’t back down from the fight. Nor will I. I’m just not quite sure where to take it.

        I gotta teach my bats better dodging maneuvers maybe…πŸ™ˆ

        Liked by 1 person

      • the great part about writing is that you are the Creator ,you can have your characters and stories do whatever you want , just start writing ,the answer will soon flow out of you like well you know when you make a expresso coffee and from the shower head ,just before the pressure hits the sweet spot you get the pre drips but then that velvety creamy coffee starts to flow into your cup , well thats what writing a bit like sometimes . πŸŽƒπŸ”«πŸŒ

        Liked by 1 person

      • Honestly, I have a burning drive to do more. These things are wrong on so many levels. I don’t believe that it’s futile…very difficult, yes.
        But if we don’t do it/say it, who will?πŸ™ˆ

        Liked by 1 person

      • sigh unfortunately history is on the side of the thoughts i laid out and humans(as a collective) don’t look to be changing their form anytime soon ,that doesn’t mean that one should give up,but one should consider that that the human race is a one step forward 2 step backwards kind of dance , and ones toes might get crushed ,this probably won’t help πŸŽƒπŸ”«πŸŒ

        Liked by 1 person

      • Rather crushed toes than dead spirit…

        There is a tune that I’ve started humming….🎢🎡🎢🎡🎢🎡🎢

        now where did those bg tips get to?πŸ™ˆπŸŽƒπŸŒπŸŒΏπŸŽΆ

        Liked by 1 person

      • Heroism aside, the lesson I consistently teach my children is, if they know they are in their right cause or that of others, to simply not back down. Win or lose, they are going to have to live with their decisions. I’d rather fight and lose, frankly, and know that I fought and gave it everything I had.

        Tell me what freedoms get resurrerected otherwise…LolπŸ™ˆπŸŒπŸŒΏπŸ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

      • ahh where was i ,the question on freedom was probably best summed up by Janis Joplin . i would imagine what you taught your kids was based on the bigger issues as on a day by day one would be rather exhausted trying to fight every fight ,but even on a larger front a good tactician my choose to live to fight another day πŸŽƒπŸ”«πŸŒ

        Liked by 1 person

      • so here is the question then…

        what next?

        I am completely open to ideas, bg. I have a particular skill set and a LOT of passion for the topic at hand. I’m asking the question sincerely. I can write poems about it all day long, but I’m tired of just spinning. I would rather do some shaking…Lol

        I really welcome any ideas.πŸ™ˆπŸŒπŸŒΏπŸ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

      • there are many organizations trying to bring about change , join one ,join a protest ,to become an agitator one must become part of the washing machine (this probably shows my age as most modern washers don’t have an agitator)πŸŽƒ πŸ”«πŸŒ

        Liked by 1 person

      • bg, forget all the other comments. I left you a pack of seed today on monk’s site. (if you go from old, to new comments…sorry. I was typing as I was thinking through.)

        Just take a look when you have time…thxπŸ™ˆπŸŒπŸŒΏπŸ˜ŠπŸŽƒ

        Liked by 1 person

      • as i say ,i love it when your bullet ricochets around ,always makes for interesting reading and ahh u got me ,i started from the bottom so unfortunately you got some replys lol hope they help or at least keeps the bullet bouncing,i’ll go take a look at your seed πŸŽƒπŸ”«πŸŒ

        Liked by 1 person

      • btw, I know you know all of that…Lol

        If you do venture through my comments, be sure to catch all of her responses to me. It got interesting at the end, and it is something I have experienced a lot of, not so much in WP but in person. There are comments from another person stuck in the middle of them. Dr. Fraud would find it interesting, I think.πŸ™ˆπŸŒπŸŒΏπŸ˜ŠπŸŽƒ

        Like

Leave a Reply

